On this page you will find details of our Cathedral Clergy, Chapter and Council.


Our Dean

  • The Very Reverend Dr Sue Jones.

Our Residentiary Clergy

  • Canon Philip Anderson
  • Canon Dr Ellen Loudon 
  • Canon Dr Neal Barnes
  • Canon Bob Lewis 
  • Canon Dr Mike Kirby
  • Revd Debs Davies


The responsibility for the good management of the Cathedral rests with the Chapter. The Chapter consists of the senior Cathedral clergy as well as lay members.

Dean's Office

The Very Reverend Dr Sue Jones
Dean of Liverpool


Executive Assistant to the Dean


Contact for all Baptisms, Weddings and Funerals.


Residentiary Canons

Canon Dr Philip Anderson
Canon Precentor

Canon Anderson is responsible for the music and liturgy department.


For other music and liturgy, contact details click here

Canon Dr Ellen Loudon
Canon Chancellor

Canon Loudon is working on our Fairness and Wellbeing agenda. Ellen combines this role with that of Director of Social Justice for the Diocese of Liverpool


Canon Dr Neal Barnes
Sub Dean and Canon for Mission and Faith Development

Canon Barnes is responsible for helping more visitors encounter God and grow in their faith. He oversees our SEPAS congregations as well as the Education Team



Canon Dr Mike Kirby
Canon Scientist


Cathedral Curate

Revd Debs Davies


Cathedral Readers

  • Gratten Williams
  • Liz Shields

Lay Canons

  • Canon Judith Greensmith

  • Canon Linda Jones

  • Canon Margaret Swinson

  • Canon Andrew Holroyd

  • Canon Saro Esmaeili 

  • Canon Margaret Carney

   For other Cathedral staff contact details, click here.

Photo Credits

Jill Jennings
David Jones
Ant Clausen